Top 5 Batsmen With the Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

Batsmen With the Most Runs in a Single IPL Season: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly the top T20 cricket league in the world. Since its inception in 2008, some of the greatest batsmen in cricket have showcased their skills and smashed numerous records in the high-profile tournament. Scoring runs consistently in a T20 format at a quick scoring rate is not an easy task. However, some batsmen have made it look effortless over the years. 

Batsmen With the Most Runs in a Single IPL Season

In this article, we will look at the elite list of batsmen who have scored the highest runs in a single season of the IPL. Scoring over 800-900 runs in one IPL season requires tremendous consistency, power hitting ability and determination to deliver match after match. These batting megastars have shown they have it all in them.

Bowlers Who Has Taken The Most Wickets In A Single IPL Season?

Highest Run Scorers in an IPL Season 

Player Year MatInnRunsAVGSRBest50s100s
V Kohli (RCB)2016161697381.08152.031130704
S Gill (GT)2023171789059.33157.801290403
J Buttler (RR)2022171786357.53149.051160404
D Warner2016171784860.57151.4293*09
K Williamson (SRH)2018171773552.50142.448408
C Gayle (RCB)2012151473361.08160.74128*0701
M Hussey (CSK)2013171773352.35129.509506
Faf Du Plessis (RCB)2023141473056.15153.688408
C Gayle (RCB)2013161670859.00156.29175*0401
D Warner (SRH)2019121269269.20143.86100*0801
AB DE Villiers (RCB)2016161668752.84168.79129*0601
R Pant (DC)2018141468452.61173.60128*0501

1. Virat Kohli – 973 runs in IPL 2016 

In 2016, Virat Kohli had an incredible IPL season. He scored 973 runs in 16 matches, averaging 81.08 and striking at 152.03. This is the most runs ever scored by an individual in a single IPL season.

Kohli also scored the most centuries in a single IPL season, with 4. He also scored 7 fifties.

Some of Kohli’s best innings that season include 113 vs Kings XI Punjab, 109* vs Gujarat Lions, and 108* vs Rising Pune Supergiants. He won the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in the tournament, and he was the backbone of RCB’s run to the finals.

Check Out : Best Spin Bowlers Of All Time In Indian Premier League

2. Shubman Gill – 890 Runs IPL 2023

Shubman Gill had a special year in 2023, scoring runs easily in international cricket against some of the best bowling attacks in the world. He continued his good form in the IPL for his team, the Gujarat Titans.

Gill started the tournament with a valuable 36-ball 63 against CSK in the first match. He peaked at the end of the tournament, scoring 3 centuries in 4 games, including a triple-digit knock against Mumbai Indians in the playoffs.

Gill finished the tournament with 890 runs in 17 matches at an average of 59.33 and a strike rate of 157.80. He smoked 3 centuries, including a highest score of 129 off 60 balls against Mumbai Indians in the qualifiers.

Gill’s efforts helped the Gujarat Titans reach the final, but they lost to CSK by 5 wickets. Gill scored 54 off 39 balls in the final.

3. Jos Buttler – 863 runs in IPL 2022

Jos Buttler, the Rajasthan Royals’ opening batsman, had a great IPL season in 2022. He scored 863 runs in 17 matches, which is just short of Shubman Gill’s record. Buttler was in great form and scored 4 centuries, which is the same as Kohli’s record for a season.

Buttler destroyed bowling attacks with innings like 116 against Delhi Capitals, 103 against KKR, and 89* against RCB. He was awarded the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in the tournament. Buttler’s skill, innovation, and clean hitting made him a standout player in the IPL.

4. David Warner – 848 runs in IPL 2016 

David Warner, the Australian southpaw who captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016, led his team from the front with a mountain of runs. He scored 848 runs in 17 matches, averaging 60.57 and striking at 151.42.

While Warner did not score any centuries, his consistency was exemplary, as he notched up a record 9 half-centuries – the most by anyone in an IPL season. Innings like 92* vs RCB and 93* vs GL played an instrumental role in powering SRH to the title.

5. Kane Williamson – 735 runs in IPL 2018

Kane Williamson had a great IPL season as captain of SRH in 2018. With Warner banned, Williamson became the leading run scorer for Hyderabad. He scored 735 runs in 17 matches, averaging 52.5 and striking at 142.44.

Williamson was very consistent, scoring 8 fifties – the most in a season along with Warner. His innings of 84 vs CSK and 83* vs RCB showed his skill and temperament.

6. Chris Gayle – 733 runs in IPL 2012 

West Indian cricket legend Chris Gayle had a great IPL season in 2012 for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He scored 733 runs in just 15 matches, averaging 61.08 and striking at 160.74.

Gayle hit 1 century and 7 fifties, destroying bowling attacks on his own. Innings like 128* against the Delhi Daredevils and a whirlwind 81 against the Chennai Super Kings showed Gayle’s amazing power and skill in hitting the ball. He won the Orange Cap in 2012 for scoring the most runs.


– Virat Kohli’s record of 973 runs in 2016 stands tall as the highest run tally in one IPL season so far. He was in phenomenal batting form that year.

– Jos Buttler came ever so close to breaking Kohli’s record in 2022 with 863 runs to his name thanks to his consistency and 4 centuries. 

– David Warner, Kane Williamson and Chris Gayle complete the top 5 run scorers list through their batting heroics and consistency.

– To score over 700-900 runs in one IPL season requires tremendous focus, hunger for runs and consistency to perform under pressure game after game. 

– This elite club of batsmen showed they have the perfect cocktail of technique, power hitting and sharp match awareness to be the highest run getters of an IPL season.

Scoring truckloads of runs in the slam bang T20 format consistently across one season is no easy task. But these batting megastars proved they had the prowess to etch their names in the IPL record books through their sensational run scoring feats in a single season.

Similar Posts