Bowlers Who Have Conceded the Most Sixes in IPL History

Batsmen hit many big sixes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is a show of batting. People praise the batsmen for hitting sixes. But the bowlers suffer a lot. They have to see their balls flying out of the ground again and again.

This article analyzes bowlers who have conceded the most number of sixes over 15 high-scoring IPL seasons between 2008-2023.

Bowlers Who Have Conceded the Most Sixes in IPL History

Bowlers Conceding the Most Sixes in IPL History

With the advent of powerplay restrictions and limitation of only 4 fielders outside the 30-yard circle, bowlers, both fast bowlers and spinners, are at the mercy of batsmen in T20 cricket. This effect gets amplified in high-octane tournaments like the IPL.

Let’s analyze the fascinating stats behind the unfortunate bowlers, both fast bowlers and spinners, who have suffered the most in conceding a barrage of sixes over 15 seasons of the IPL. This examination will provide insights into the list of bowlers who have been hit the hardest in terms of sixes conceded.

Piyush Chawla2011801.12
Yuzvendra Chahal1941441.35
Ravindra Jadeja1931970.98
Ravichandran Ashwin1841940.95
Amit Mishra1811611.11
Dwayne Bravo1551580.98
Sunil Narine1491610.93
Harbhajan Singh1451600.91
Umesh Yadav1401401.00
Axar Patel1391341.04

1. Piyush Chawla – 201 Sixes

Veteran Indian leg-spinner Piyush Chawla tops this list with 201 sixes hit off his bowling in the IPL. Having played for multiple franchises, batsmen have tonked Chawla out of the park an average of 1.12 sixes every innings.

Once conceding an astonishing 30 sixes in a single season, Chawla has often relied more on containment rather than attacking wicket-taking. His tendency to toss up inviting loopers has rendered him easy fodder for marauding batters.

Piyush Chawla holds the record for conceding the maximum number of sixes among all bowlers, topping the list with a mark that showcases the challenges faced by bowlers in the IPL.

 2. Yuzvendra Chahal – 194 Sixes 

India’s leading IPL wicket-taker Yuzvendra Chahal comes next. His attacking leg spin bowling style has reaped plenty of wickets but also resulted in 194 balls getting hit into the crowds.

For RCB over the years, Chahal has often been the go-to bowler, including during high-pressure phases. With over 1.3 sixes being hit off his bowling every innings, Chahal has endured many bruising assaults from the likes of MS Dhoni and Jos Buttler while creating riveting cricketing drama.

His aggressive style has led to both success and challenges, with a significant number of balls getting hit during his impactful bowling spells in the IPL.

3. Ravindra Jadeja – 193 Sixes

Star Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja takes the third spot with 193 sixes being struck off his bowling. A regular for the Chennai Super Kings, Jadeja’s left-arm orthodox spin has tasted mixed fortunes. 

Batsmen often attack him massively during the middle overs, with an average of almost 1 six per innings being scored off Jadeja’s bowling. Some notable hitting includes a CSK teammate Mahendra Singh Dhoni pummelling him for 31 sixes during a particularly merciless assault.

4. Ravichandran Ashwin – 184 Sixes

Crafty off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin comes next with 184 balls soaring over the ropes against his name. His illustrious IPL career has witnessed both plummeting batting records and steep economy rates after multiple maulings from the willow.

Kings XI Punjab were once clobbered for a world record 26 sixes by RCB’s Chris Gayle including 7 sixes off Ashwin. But the wily bowler has generally relied more on creating wicket opportunities, conceding almost 1 six every innings as an acceptable trade-off.  

5. Amit Mishra – 181 Sixes

Rounding off the top 5 is leggie Amit Mishra having conceded 181 sixes since his IPL debut in 2008. Often relied upon for controlling runs, Mishra has also tasted frequent harsh treatment from opposition batters.

In 2021, Mishra endured Punjab Kings’ KL Rahul smacking him for a stunning record 7 sixes in an over at Mohali for 36 runs. With over 1 six being hit every innings off his bowling, Mishra completes this list of being at the receiving end of lofted strokes constantly.

Batsman With The Most Centuries In A Single IPL Season

Memorable High Sixes Conceded Performances 

While these bowlers feature only because of their longevity playing a key factor, some unbelievable record-breaking exhibitions of six-hitting stand out:

– Chris Gayle hammering Varun Aaron for 33 runs in a single over including 4 sixes and a no-ball six during IPL 2013 as part of a record 175 not out.

– In IPL 2008, Yuvraj Singh carved 6 sixes in Stuart Broad’s single over including some audacious strokes over long-on off fast full tosses. 


In conclusion, Piyush Chawla, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra have endured conceding the most sixes respectively in IPL history primarily due to small grounds and batting friendly conditions.

With entertainment centered business dynamics unlikely to evolve, bowlers will remain feeling the heat of relentless assaults. They can only develop resilience through courage and innovation to somehow survive.

Q2. Who has taken the most wickets despite conceding many sixes?

Yuzvendra Chahal tops the wicket charts in IPL history with 156 wickets followed by Piyush Chawla despite conceding 194 and 201 sixes respectively.

Similar Posts