ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Records and Winners From 2007

The T20 World Cup, formerly known as the ICC World Twenty20, is a T20 International Cricket Championship that is typically played every two years.

The T20 World Cup is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the sport’s regulatory body.

West Indies is the most successful team in the competition as of now, when there have only been six tournaments contested. Sri Lanka has one championship and three Finals appearances.

Among the top contenders who have never achieved either a T20 World Cup victory or inclusion on the T20 World Cup Winner List are South Africa and New Zealand.

History Men’s T20 World Cup

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) came up with the concept of a 20-over-a-side game, believing that the fast-paced nature of the game would increase attendance at the venue and sponsor interest.

The Twenty20 Cup was started by the ECB in 2003. It was the world’s very first professional county Twenty20 league.

The Twenty20 Cup’s inaugural official Twenty20 match between English county teams was played on June 13, 2003.

27,509 spectators attended the first Twenty20 game at Lord’s on July 15, 2004. The number of spectators was the most for a county cricket match at the venue since 1953 that wasn’t an ODI final.

The new game format quickly became a hit and gained popularity after being adopted by other Cricket boards.

On February 17, 2005, Australia and New Zealand competed in the first T20 International match, which Australia won.

India won the inaugural World Cup, which was held in 2007 with South Africa serving as the host nation.

ICC T20 World Cup Trophy Details

The ICC T20 World Cup Trophy is composed of Rhodium and Silver and weighs about 7.5 kg. The trophy measures about 51 cm (20 inches) in height and 19 cm (7.5 inches) in breadth at its top and 14 cm (5.5 inches) at its base.

Men’s T20 World Cup List of Winners

Take a look at the list of T20 World Cup winners, runners-up, host nations, match- and tournament-winning players from 2007 to 2021.

T20 World Cup 2007

Host NationSouth Africa
Final VenueJohannesburg
157/5 (20 overs)
152 all out (19.4 overs)
Margin5 Runs
Man of the MatchIrfan Pathan
Man of the TournamentShahid Afridi

T20 World Cup 2009

Host NationEngland
Final VenueLondon
139/2 (18.4 overs)
Runner-upSri Lanka
138/6 (20 overs)
Margin8 Wickets
Man of the MatchShahid Afridi
Man of the TournamentTillakaratne Dilshan

T20 World Cup 2010

Host NationWest Indies
Final VenueBridgetown
148/3 (17 overs)
147/6 (20 overs)
Margin7 Wickets
Man of the MatchCraig Kieswetter
Man of the TournamentKevin Pietersen

T20 World Cup 2012

Host NationSri Lanka
Final VenueColombo
WinnersWest Indies
137/6 (20 overs)
Runner-upSri Lanka
101 all out (18.4 overs)
Margin36 Runs
Man of the MatchMarlon Samuels
Man of the TournamentShane Watson

T20 World Cup 2014

Host NationBangladesh
Final VenueDhaka
WinnersSri Lanka
134/4 (17.5 overs)
130/4 (20 overs)
Margin6 Wickets
Man of the MatchKumar Sangakkara
Man of the TournamentVirat Kohli

T20 World Cup 2016

Host NationIndia
Final VenueKolkata
WinnersWest Indies
161/6 (19.4 overs)
155/9 (20 overs)
Margin4 Wickets
Man of the MatchMarlon Samuels
Man of the TournamentVirat Kohli

T20 World Cup 2021

Host NationUnited Arab Emirates
Final VenueDubai International Stadium
173/2 (18.5 overs)
Runner-upNew Zealand
172/4 (20 overs)
Margin8 Wickets
Man of the MatchMitchell Marsh
Man of the TournamentDavid Warner

T20 World Cup Records

Batting Records

Most Runs

Mahela Jayawardene1,016
Chris Gayle965
Tillakaratne Dilshan897
Rohit Sharma847
Virat Kohli845

Highest Score

Brendon McCullum123
Chris Gayle117
Alex Hales116*
Ahmed Shehzad111*
Tamim Iqbal103*

Most Runs in a single Tournament

Virat Kohli6319World T20 (2013/14)
Tillakaratne Dilshan7317ICC World Twenty20 (2009)
Babar Azam6303ICC T20 World Cup (2021)
Mahela Jayawardene6302ICC World Twenty20 (2010)
Tamim Iqbal6295World T20 (2015/16)

List of Hundreds

PlayerRunsBallsMatch Date
Chris Gayle1175711 Sep 2007
Suresh Raina101602 May 2010
Mahela Jayawardene100643 May 2010
Brendon McCullum1235821 Sep 2012
Alex Hales116*6427 Mar 2014
Ahmed Shehzad111*6230 Mar 2014
Tamim Iqbal103*6313 Mar 2016
Chris Gayle100*4816 Mar 2016
Jos Buttler101*671 Nov 2021

Most Fifties

Virat Kohli10
Chris Gayle9
Rohit Sharma8
Mahela Jayawardene7
David Warner6

Fastest Hundred

Chris Gayle482016
Chris Gayle572007
Brendon McCullum582012
Suresh Raina602010
Ahmed Shehzad622014

Fastest Fifty

Yuvraj Singh122007

Most Ducks

Shahid Afridi5
Tillakaratne Dilshan5
Lendl Simmons4
Sanath Jayasuriya4
Andre Russell4

Most Sixes

Chris Gayle63
Yuvraj Singh33
Shane Watson31
Rohit Sharma31
David Warner31

Most Fours

Mahela Jayawardene111
Tillakaratne Dilshan101
Chris Gayle75
Virat Kohli73
Brendon McCullum67

Most Sixes in an Innings

PlayerSixesMatch Date
Chris Gayle1116 Mar 2016
Chris Gayle1011 Sep 2007
Yuvraj Singh719 Sep 3007
David Warner77 May 2010
Chris Gayle79 May 2010

Most Fours in an Innings

PlayerFoursMatch Date
Herschelle Gibbs1411 Sep 2007
Aaron Redmond1311 Jun 2009
Lendl Simmons1213 Jun 2009
Tillakaratne Dilshan1219 Jun 2009
Sanath Jayasuriya1114 Sep 2007

Bowling Records

Most Wickets

Shakib Al Hasan41
Shahid Afridi39
Lasith Malinga38
Saeed Ajmal36
Ajantha Mendis35

Best Bowling Figures

PlayerWickets/RunsMatch Date
Ajantha Mendis6/818 Sep 2012
Rangana Herath5/331 Mar 2014
Umar Gul5/613 Jun 2009
Ahsan Malik5/1927 Mar 2014
Adam Zampa5/194 Nov 2021

Best Economy Rate

Sunil Narine5.17
Samuel Badree5.52
Daniel Vettori5.83
Nathan McCullum5.94
Ravichandran Ashwin6.01

Best Economy Rates in an Innings

PlayerEconomyMatch Date
Nuwan Kulasekara024 Mar 2014
Rangana Herath0.8531 Mar 2014
Adil Rashid0.8523 Oct 2021
Bhuvneshwar Kumar123 Mar 2014
Sachithra Senanayake131 Mar 2014

Best Averages

Samuel Badree13.58
Ajantha Mendis15.02
Ravichandran Ashwin15.26
Sunil Narine15.40
Rashid Khan15.52

Most Wickets in a single Tournament

Wanindu Hasaranga16ICC T20 World Cup
Ajantha Mendis15ICC World Twenty20
Dirk Nannes14ICC World Twenty20
Umar Gul13ICC World Twenty20
Adam Zampa13ICC T20 World Cup

Most Five Wicket in an Innings

Player5 Wicket
Mujeeb Ur Rahman1
James Faulkner1
Ahsan Malik1
Rangana Herath1
Mustafizur Rahman1
Adam Zampa1
Ajantha Mendis1
Umar Gul1
Lasith Malinga1

Most Four Wickets in an Innings

Player4+ Wickets
Saeed Ajmal3
Shakib Al Hasan3
Mustafizur Rahman2
Morne Morkel2
Ajantha Mendis2
Umar Gul2
Shahid Afridi2

Most Runs Conceded in an Innings

Sanath Jayasuriya64
Mashrafe Mortaza63
Lameck Onyango61
Stuart Broad60
Mitchel Starc60


Most Catches

AB de Villiers23
Martin Guptill19
David Warner18
Rohit Sharma15
Dwayne Bravo15

Most Catches in an Innings

Daren Sammy4
Brett Lee3
Sulieman Benn3
Lendl Simmons3
AB de Villiers3

Most Catches in a Series

Michael Hussey8ICC World Twenty20
Calum Scott MacLeod8ICC T20 World Cup
Steven Smith8ICC T20 World Cup
David Warner8ICC World Twenty20
Dwayne Bravo7World T20

Wicketkeeping Records

Most Dismissals

MS Dhoni32
Kamran Akmal30
Denesh Ramdin27
Kumar Sangakkara26
Mushfiqur Rahim19

Most Dismissals in an Innings

Adam Gilchrist4
Matt Prior4
Kamran Akmal4
Niall O’Brien4
MS Dhoni4

Most Dismissals in a series

AB de Villiers9ICC World Twenty20
Adam Gilchrist9ICC World Twenty20
Kamran Akmal9ICC World Twenty20
Kumar Sangakkara9ICC World Twenty20
Matthew Wade9ICC T20 World Cup

Team Records

Highest Totals

TeamScoreMatch Date
Sri Lanka260/614 Sep 2007
England230/818 Mar 2016
South Africa229/418 Mar 2016
India218/419 Sep 2007
South Africa211/507 Jun 2009

Lowest Totals

TeamScoreMatch Date
Netherlands3924 Mar 2014
Netherlands4422 Oct 2021
West Indies5523 Oct 2021
New Zealand6031 Mar 2014
Scotland6025 Oct 2021

Individual Records

Most Matches

Tillakaratne Dilshan35
Dwayne Bravo34
Shahid Afridi34
Shoaib Malik34
MS Dhoni33

Most Matches as Captain

MS Dhoni33
Daren Sammy18
Paul Collingwood17
Graeme Smith16
William Porterfield15

Similar Posts