Most Consecutive Wins in IPL by a Team – Longest Winning Streaks in IPL History

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen some incredible winning runs by teams over its 15 years. Winning consecutive matches builds momentum and allows teams to dominate the league standings. 

In this post, we will look at the teams that have registered the longest winning streaks in IPL history. The ability to string together multiple wins in a row requires consistency in performance and nerves of steel in close finishes.

Most Consecutive Wins in IPL by a Team

Most Consecutive Wins in  IPL History

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has produced many exhilarating winning streaks by franchises over 15 seasons. Stringing together consecutive match wins builds confidence and momentum for teams during the gruelling IPL season. 

Winning 5-6 games in a row requires consistency in every department – batting, bowling and fielding. When a team starts notching up consecutive wins, their morale is boosted and opponents start fearing them.

In this post, we will look at the longest winning streaks in IPL history and the teams that dominated during these runs.

Most consecutive wins in IPL

1. Kolkata Knight Riders – 10 Wins (IPL 2014 – 2015)  

Kolkata Knight Riders holds the record for the longest winning streak in IPL history – 10 consecutive wins in matches in succession, spanning across the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

They concluded IPL 2014 by securing victories in their last nine games, ultimately clinching the title.

In 2015, KKR continued their winning momentum by triumphing in their opening match against Mumbai Indians, extending their consecutive wins in the IPL to 10 matches in succession under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. During this historic unbeaten run, players like Andre Russell, Uthappa, Chawla, and Narine played pivotal roles in KKR’s success.

Who is the Baap of IPL?

2. Kings XI Punjab – 8 Wins (IPL 2013 – 2014)

Kings XI Punjab holds the record for the third longest winning run in IPL history, across two seasons. In IPL 2013, Punjab won their last three games under Adam Gilchrist. 

In 2014, with George Bailey as captain, Punjab continued their streak by winning their first five games against CSK, RR, KKR, SRH and RCB. With eight wins on the trot, Punjab topped the table but lost the 2014 final to Kolkata Knight Riders.

3. Chennai Super Kings – 7 Wins (IPL 2013)

In the history of the Indian Premier League, Chennai Super Kings registered their longest winning streak in the 2013 edition of the IPL when they won seven consecutive games under the leadership of MS Dhoni. CSK recovered from an average start to find top gear mid-season.

With Dhoni, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina, and Ravindra Jadeja in top form, Chennai defeated Pune Warriors, Delhi Daredevils, Hyderabad Sunrisers, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, and Bangalore during this remarkable winning streak in the IPL tournament. Despite their impressive run, they finished runners-up to Mumbai that season.

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 7 Wins (IPL 2011) 

In 2011, Royal Challengers Bangalore produced an incredible seven-match winning streak under Daniel Vettori’s captaincy.

After three losses in their first five games, RCB won seven games on the bounce with Chris Gayle joining the team.

RCB defeated Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Rajasthan Royals, Pune Warriors, Chennai Super Kings, Kochi Tuskers again, Deccan Chargers and Kolkata Knight Riders during this dominant run.

Gayle and Kohli dominated batting while RCB’s bowlers excelled. However, they lost the final to Chennai.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders – 6 Wins (IPL 2012)

Under Gautam Gambhir’s leadership, Kolkata Knight Riders clinched their maiden IPL title in 2012. KKR’s march to the trophy involved winning their last six league stage matches in a row after a shaky start.

With Gambhir leading KKR’s batting and Sunil Narine excelling with his spin, they defeated Delhi, Pune, Bangalore, Chennai, and Deccan during this winning run. It propelled them to the playoffs where they beat Delhi and Chennai to lift the trophy.

6. Mumbai Indians – 6 Wins (IPL 2017) 

Mumbai Indians achieved their finest winning streak in IPL 2017 when they registered six consecutive victories under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy.

Mumbai’s winning run started after losing their first match to Rising Pune Supergiant. 

With Parthiv Patel, Jos Buttler and world-class bowlers like Lasith Malinga, Mumbai outplayed opponents like Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils comprehensively during this dominant period. They won their third IPL title that season.

7. Rajasthan Royals – 6 Wins (IPL 2008) 

Rajasthan Royals stunned everyone by winning the inaugural IPL under Shane Warne’s captaincy in 2008. During their fairy tale run, RR notched up six straight wins in the league stage while chasing down low totals successfully.   

With Warne leading from the front, Royals defeated Delhi Daredevils, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai and Punjab during their winning run. It propelled them to the top of the table with 11 wins before beating Chennai and Kings XI in the playoffs.

8. Chennai Super Kings – 6 Wins (IPL 2014)  

Led by the inspirational MS Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings produced many successful seasons between 2008-2018. One of their finest winning runs came in IPL 2014 when they won six consecutive games in the round-robin phase.

With players like Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo and Brendon McCullum, CSK outclassed opponents like Delhi Daredevils, Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders during this streak. They topped the points table with nine wins before finishing runners-up. 

How Many Times CSK Won IPL? 

9. Mumbai Indians – 6 Wins (IPL 2008)

In the inaugural IPL season in 2008, Mumbai Indians managed to win six games in a row after starting with four straight losses. With star players like Sachin Tendulkar and Harbhajan Singh, Mumbai turned their fortunes around after the poor start. 

They first defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by seven wickets, which sparked the six-match winning run. Mumbai registered comprehensive wins against Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore during this dominant streak.


Winning consecutive matches breeds confidence and momentum for teams during the IPL season. Kolkata Knight Riders holds the record for the longest winning streak in IPL history with 10 wins on the trot across 2014-15.

Kings XI Punjab (2013-14) and Chennai Super Kings (2013) also registered eight and seven straight wins respectively during their dominant runs. Sustaining match-winning consistency for 5-10 games requires team effort and leadership qualities of the highest order.

Who won the first ever IPL season in 2008?

Rajasthan Royals, led by Shane Warne, won the inaugural IPL season in 2008.

Which team has won the most IPL titles?

Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title maximum 5 times. 

Who is the leading run scorer in IPL history?

Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs scored in IPL history with 6,624 runs.

Who holds the record for most wickets in IPL?

Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets in IPL history with 170 wickets.

Similar Posts