The Pakistan Super League PSL cricket league is home to the professional T20 cricket team Multan Sultans.

They have been participating in the competition since its third season in 2018 and won the PSL 6 championship. They play at Multan Cricket Stadium, which serves as their home field.

Ownership of the business changed frequently, going from Schon Properties to Alamgir Khan Tareen and Ali Khan Tareen, and finally to just Alamgir Khan Tareen.

Their management and coaching staff includes a number of former international cricket players. Their assistant and spin bowling coach is Mushtaq Ahmed, while their head coach is Andy Flower. Their first captain was Shoaib Malik, and their current captain is Muhammad Rizwan.

Ownership History

Schon Properties acquired this franchise at first and held it for 8 years before selling it after competing against 10 other bidders for the contract.

The contract between the owners and PCB was cancelled after the first season because they neglected to pay the yearly fee stipulated by the board. Control was taken up by PCB.

Following this, a tender for repurchasing the franchise was approved. The Multan Consortium’s Alamgir Khan Tareen and Ali Khan Tareen won the auction and acquired the squad. Alamgir Khan Tareen became the sole proprietor of the franchise in 2021, three years later.

Team Identity and Sponsors

The team’s uniform and emblem were unveiled at a ceremony in September 2017. A horse rider dressed traditionally for the Saraiki culture of Southern Punjab appears in their emblem. The official team colours are blue and marine green.

YearShirt Sponsor (Front)Shirt Sponsor (Back)Chest BrandingSleeve Branding
2018Lake CityFatima GroupMughal SteelInverex/Super Asia
2019PepsiAfsanehLay’sOLX, Asia Ghee Mill/F.C.
2020Fatima GroupKurkurePepsi/Asia Ghee/Shell V-Power
2021G.F.C FansSnack Video/Asia Ghee
2022wolf777 NewsAsia Ghee/Shell V-Power/Nishan-E-Haider Builders and Developers

Multan Sultans Kit

Multan Sultans PSL History

PSL 3rd Edition | PSL 2018

Multan lost the majority of their games in their inaugural season and were eliminated in the group round. Shoaib Malik was appointed captain for the first campaign. Wasim Akram served as their Director when Tom Moody was appointed head coach. The team was managed by the knowledgeable Nadeem Khan.

Due to their inability to win more than four out of ten games during the group stage, they placed fifth in the standings with nine points. One game produced no outcome.

  • Coach: Tom Moody
  • Captain: Shoaib Malik
  • Most Runs: Kumar Sangakkara (269)
  • Most Wickets: Imran Tahir (13)

PSL 4th Edition | PSL 2019

Multan made some adjustments to the team and management following the underwhelming inaugural campaign. The team’s head coach was named as Johan Botha. Also departing, Wasim Akram joined Karachi Kings. The team was eliminated in the group stage after failing to advance to the play-off stage once more.

Sultans only managed to win three of of ten group games, placing them fifth in the standings with six points.

  • Coach: Johan Botha
  • Captain: Shoaib Malik
  • Most Runs: Shoaib Malik (266)
  • Most Wickets: Shahid Afridi (10)

PSL 5th Edition | PSL 2020

Prior to the fifth season of the Pakistan Super League, numerous changes were once more made. Shan Masood was appointed team captain, and Andy Flower was hired as head coach. For the first time, Multan Sultans made it to the play-off stage.

Unfortunately, they lost their next two games to Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars, thus they were unable to advance to the championship game.

They won six out of ten games, placing first on the group stage points table with 14 points. 2 matches had no outcome.

  • Coach: Andy Flower
  • Captain: Shan Masood
  • Most Runs: Muhammad Rizwan (223)
  • Most Wickets: Sohail Tanveer (14)
Multan Sultans Team

PSL 6th Edition | PSL 2021

The Sultans’ first-ever PSL championship was to be achieved this year. They had a poor start to their season, losing both of their games to Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United.

They recently gained momentum and advanced to the play-off round, where they earned a spot in the championship game and prevailed.

Multan Sultans finished second in the standings with 10 points after winning 5 of their 10 group-stage games.

They first defeated Islamabad United in the playoffs to advance to the finals, and then they defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win the Pakistan Super League for the first time.

  • Coach: Andy Flower
  • Captain: Muhammad Rizwan
  • Most Runs: Muhammad Rizwan (500)
  • Most Wickets: Shahnawaz Dahani (20)

PSL 7th Edition | PSL 2022

It was now time to defend their championship after winning the previous season. They got off to a great start by annihilating the opposition in practically every game during the group stage.

This season, Lahore Qalandars was the only team they lost against. The Sultans lost the decisive game against the Qalandars by 42 runs, finishing in second place.

Multan took the top spot in the standings with 18 points after winning 9 of their 10 group stage games.

  • Coach: Andy Flower
  • Captain: Muhammad Rizwan
  • Most Runs: Muhammad Rizwan (546)
  • Most Wickets: Shahnawaz Dahani (17)

Multan Sultans Players 2023

  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Josh Little
  • David Miller / Izharulhaq Naveed
  • Shan Masood
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Tim David (Reserved)
  • Shahnawaz Dahani
  • Akeal Hosain (Reserved)
  • Usman Khan
  • Usama Mir
  • Sameen Gul
  • Mohammad Sarwar Afridi
  • Anwar Ali
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Ihsanullah

Multan Sultans has selected 2 players in supplementary category.

  • Arafat Minhas
  • Adil Rasheed / Wayne Parnell

Multan Sultan Player Statistics

Most Runs

Shan Masood2019–20233534108331.858807
Muhammad Rizwan2021–20232424104655.0583*011
Sohaib Maqsood2018–2023292877135.0485*06
Rilee Rossouw2020–2023333166929.08100*14
Khushdil Shah2020–2023353055834.4170*01
The leading run scorer and current captain of the team, Muhammad Rizwan

Most Wickets

Imran Tahir2018–2023395317.833/76.9415.300
Shahnawaz Dahani2019–2023223718.274/58.8512.320
Sohail Tanveer2018–2023282627.694/137.8121.210
Shahid Afridi2021–2023221927.152/187.6221.300
Junaid Khan2018–2023191928.153/248.3520.200

Multan Sultans Result Record


20201163011651/6Playoffs (3rd)
Total55302201254.541 Time


Islamabad United2018-20231055000050
Karachi Kings2018-20231144001250
Lahore Qalandars2018-20231165000054.54
Peshawar Zalmi2018-20231183000072.72
Quetta Gladiators2018-2023954000055.55

Management/Coaching Staff and Captains

Alamgir Khan TareenOwner
Haider AzharManager and COO
Andy FlowerHead Coach
Abdul RehmanAssistant coach
Mushtaq AhmedAssistant and Spin bowling Coach
Ottis GibsonAssistant and Fast bowling Coach
Richard HalsallFielding and Strength & Conditioning Coach
Cliff DeaconTeam physio
Talha EjazTeam analyst
Usman MunirAssistant manager
Taimur AzizTeam manager operations
Hassan AzamHead of digital media
Ahmed MirMedia manager
Sultan FaizLead videographer


1Shoaib Malik201820192071200136.84
2Shan Masood20202020116301065.00
3Mohammad Rizwan202120232317600073.91

Multan Sultans Vidoes