The Pakistan Super League PSL cricket league features the Quetta Gladiators, a professional T20 cricket team. They have been participating in the event since 2015, and they won the 2019 season. They play their home games at Bugti Stadium and represent the Balochistan capital city. They play the majority of their games at National Stadium Karachi.

Nadeem Omar is the franchise owner. Numerous former international cricket players are a part of it, including Moeen Khan, a well-known wicket-keeper batsman, who serves as their Head Coach, and Abdul Razzaq, who serves as their Assistant Coach. Their manager is Azam Khan.

Sarfraz Ahmed leads the team in runs scored, and Muhammad Nawaz leads in wickets taken.

Ownership History

Omar Associates purchased the franchise in 2015 for US$11 million. The Quetta Gladiators have had the same proprietors since the inaugural season, and that owner is Nadeem Omar.

Team Identity and Sponsors

Owner Nadeem Omer hosted two ceremonies in January 2016 to introduce the team’s name, logo, and uniform. The emblem features the helmet that the gladiators wore in ancient Rome. The basic colours of the two bat symbols, which stand in for swords on the helmet, are purple and golden. “Kai Kai Quetta” is their catchphrase, which translates to “we are coming.”

YearKit MakerShirt Sponsor (Front)Shirt Sponsor (Back)Front BrandingSleeve Branding
2016EdenrobeACM GoldPTV Sports, Zong
2017Jubilee InsuranceOmar AssociatesMaster OilPTV Sports
2018EngroOlpersEngro Foods
2020EngroMaster OilKFC/Ignite/ﺟﻨﮓ
2021BRB GroupLotte Choco PieBRB GroupKFC/Soneri Bank/Berocca
2022MeijiHemani/Soneri Bank/KFC

Quetta Gladiators Kit

Quetta Gladiators PSL History

PSL 1st Edition | PSL 2016

Quetta had a strong first season lineup for their campaign. Their team included Sarfraz Ahmed, Grant Elliot, Kevin Peterson, and Ahmed Shehzad. Their first three games were victories over Islamabad United, Peshawar, and Karachi. They earned 12 points in total, placing second overall, after winning six of the eight group games.

They easily attained play-off eligibility. They defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 1 run in a thrilling match in the qualifying round. Unfortunately, they came in second place in the tournament after losing to Islamabad United by 6 wickets.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Ahmed Shehzad (290)
  • Most Wickets: Mohammad Nawaz (13)

PSL 2nd Edition | PSL 2017

Prior to the start of the following season, Quetta made a number of player changes, releasing Kumar Sangakkara and bringing in a number of fresh faces like David Willey and Tymel Mills. By defeating Lahore Qalandars in their opening game, they effectively began their run in the tournament. They were able to win 4 out of 8 games as the competition continued and the group stage came to a close.

With 9 points, Gladiators came in second on the standings. They advanced to the play-off round, where they met Peshawar Zalmi and defeated them by three wickets to advance to the championship match. They faced Peshawar in the championship game, but this time they came up short. They finished the competition as runners-up once more.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Rilee Rossouw (255)
  • Most Wickets: Mohammad Nawaz (10)

PSL 3rd Edition | PSL 2018

Quetta’s all-match winning streak against Karachi Kings in their opening matchup of this season was broken. They gained momentum by defeating Lahore Qalandars by 9 wickets in their subsequent game. After the group stage, they were able to win five of their ten games, placing them fourth overall in the points standings.

They were able to get to the playoffs, but the competition was halted when they fell to Peshawar Zalmi in the elimination game by one run.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Shane Watson (319)
  • Most Wickets: Rahat Ali (15)
Quetta Gladiators Team

PSL 4th Edition | PSL 2019

By defeating Peshawar Zalmi by a margin of six wickets, Quetta Gladiators successfully launched their campaign this season. They concluded with seven victories out of ten group games, placing second with 14 points on the standings. Gladiators faced Peshawar in the opening qualification game and easily advanced to the play-off stage.

They were successful in defeating Peshawar, advancing to the finals where they would once more meet Peshawar. Quetta triumphed in a thrilling championship game by 10 runs to win the PSL trophy for the first time.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Shane Watson (430)
  • Most Wickets: Sohail Tanvir (15)

PSL 5th Edition | PSL 2020

Gladiators, who were the defending champions going into this season, defeated Islamabad United in their opener before falling to Peshawar Zalmi in their next contest. Quetta’s performance this time was quite dismal as they were ousted at the group stage and placed fifth in the points standings.

In the group stage, they were only successful in winning 4 of 10 games.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Sarfraz Ahmed (247)
  • Most Wickets: Muhammad Hasnain (15)

PSL 6th Edition | PSL 2021

The team’s performance this season was a complete failure. Only two of Quetta Gladiators’ group games against Multan Sultans and Lahore Qalandars were victories. With only 4 points, they received the lowest placing in the competition. Their NRR remained low at 1.786, as well.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Sarfraz Ahmed (321)
  • Most Wickets: Muhammad Hasnain (9)

PSL 7th Edition | PSL 2022

The Quetta Gladiators’ season got off to a rough start when they were defeated by Peshawar by five wickets. They were able to defeat Karachi Kings handily by 8 wickets in their second game. They were able to win four of their ten games, finishing in fifth position with eight points after the group stage.

They weren’t able to qualify for the play-offs stage.

  • Coach: Moin Khan
  • Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Most Runs: Jason Roy (303)
  • Most Wickets: Naseem Shah (14)

Quetta Gladiators Players 2023

  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Naseem Shah
  • Wanindu Hasaranga (Reserved)
  • Odean Smith / Dwaine Pretorius
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Jason Roy /Will Jackes
  • Ahsan Ali
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Umaid Asif
  • Muhammad Zahid
  • Umar Akmal
  • Will Smeed
  • Naveen ul Haq / Nuwan Thushara
  • Aimal Khan
  • Abdul Wahid Bangalzai

Quetta Gladiators has selected 2 players in supplementary category.

  • Omair Bin Yousuf
  • Martin Guptill

Quetta Galdiators Player Statistics

Most Runs

Sarfraz Ahmed2016–20237260134131.928107
Shane Watson2018–2020313199635.5791*08
Ahmed Shehzad2016–2017; 2019–2020353490428.259909
Rilee Rossouw2017–2019312975034.0976*03
Mohammad Nawaz2016–2023664961918.754700
The leading run scorer and current captain of the team, Sarfaraz Ahmed

Most Wickets

Mohammad Nawaz2016–2023615026.307.1722.04/1310
Mohammad Hasnain2019–2023253621.948.5015.44/2520
Anwar Ali2016–2023362338.828.7426.62/2100
Hasan Khan2017-2023241630.317.1625.32/1000
Rahat Ali2018111521.467.6016.94/1610

Quetta Gladiators Result Record


20209450044.445/6League Stage
2021102800206/6League Stage
2022104600405/6League Stage
Total7236351050.701 Time

Head to Head

Islamabad United2016–202315870053.33
Karachi Kings2016–202314950064.28
Lahore Qalandars2016–202314770050
Multan Sultans2018–20239450144.44
Peshawar Zalmi2016–2023208110142.1

Management/Coaching Staff and Captains

Nadeem Omar (Omar Associates)Owner
Moin KhanHead coach & Director
Azam KhanManager
Umar GulBowling coach
Viv RichardsMentor


1Sarfaraz Ahmed201620237236350150.70