T20 World Cup Captain List 2024 [Updated]

During the IPL 2024, 20 international cricket teams announced their best 15-man squads and captains for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The 9th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is being co-hosted by the United States and the West Indies.

With the final date for squad submissions set for May 1st, all teams have named their 15 players along with reserve players. This year, 20 teams are participating in the ICC’s biggest event, an increase from the 16 teams in the 2022 edition.

The teams for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 were selected based on different criteria: the top eight teams from the 2022 edition, two teams from the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, eight teams from regional qualifiers, and two teams from the host nations. These teams are divided into groups, and the first four matches will be the group stage to determine the Super 8 teams for the next rounds.

T20 World Cup Captain List 2024

So far, only West Indies and England have won the T20 World Cup Trophy twice in ICC tournament history. India won the inaugural T20 World Cup Trophy in 2007, while Pakistan (2009), Australia (2021), and Sri Lanka (2014) have each won it once.

The 2022 champion, England, will defend their title and try to win the trophy for the third time. In the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Jos Buttler will again lead his team to try to recreate their success on the world stage.

T20 World Cup captains

Here are the captains for all teams in the 2024 T20 World Cup, along with their T20I records and stats.

The table lists the 20 teams, their captains, and any winning seasons in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Tournament.

GroupTeamCaptainTrophy Winner
AIndiaRohit Sharma2007
PakistanBabar Azam2009
CanadaSaad Bin Zafar*Not Yet
IrelandPaul Stirling*Not Yet
NetherlandsTBANot Yet
BAustraliaMitchell Marsh2021
EnglandJos Buttler2010 & 2022
NamibiaGerhard Erasmus*Not Yet
OmanAqib IlyasNot Yet
ScotlandRichie BerringtonNot Yet
CNew ZealandKane WilliamsonNot Yet
AfghanistanRashid KhanNot Yet
UgandaTBANot Yet
Papua New GuineaTBANot Yet
West IndiesRovman Powell*2012 & 2016
DSouth AfricaAiden MarkramNot Yet
Sri LankaWanindu Hasaranga*2014
BangladeshNajmul Hossain Shanto*Not Yet
NepalTBANot Yet
United StatesMonank Patel *Not Yet
Note – * (predicted), TBA (To be announced)
T20 World Cup captains

Babar Azam – Pakistan

Babar Azam is the captain again for Pakistan in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. In the 2021 T20 World Cup, he scored the most runs, with 303. In the 2024 PSL, he scored 569 runs in 11 matches. This will be the third time Babar Azam leads Pakistan’s cricket team in the T20 World Cup, which will be held in the United States and West Indies.

Rohit Sharma -India

Rohit Sharma is one of the few players who has played in all 8 editions of the T20 World Cup and is set to appear in the 9th edition in 2024. He played a key role in the first T20 World Cup in 2007, scoring 30 off 16 balls. In the 2014 T20 World Cup, Rohit was the fourth-highest run-scorer with 200 runs in 6 matches. However, the 2022 edition was less impressive for him, with a strike rate of 106.42 and 116 runs in 6 matches. The 2024 T20 World Cup will be Rohit Sharma’s third time as captain.

Kane Williamson- New Zealand

Under the captaincy of Kane Williamson, the experienced Blackcaps will compete in the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. This will be Kane Williamson’s 6th time playing in the tournament and his 4th time as captain. He will be aiming to win the T20 World Cup for the first time, as the Kiwis have not won it yet.

Mitchell Marsh – Australia

Mitchell Marsh has been promoted from interim captain to permanent T20 captain and will lead Australia in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. He took over after Aaron Finch retired following the 2022 World Cup. Marsh’s captaincy marks a new beginning for the Australian T20 team, combining fresh faces with experienced players.

Aiden Markram – South Africa

Aiden Markram will lead the Proteas in the T20 World Cup 2024. This is the second time he has been appointed as South Africa’s captain for the T20 World Cup, following the 2022 edition. In the last World Cup, Markram scored 261 runs with a strike rate of 137.37 in 4 innings in Australia. This year, Markram and his team will start their ICC T20 World Cup campaign against Sri Lanka at Nassau Cricket Stadium in New York.

Rashid Khan – Afghanistan

Rashid Khan has been named captain for the 2024 T20 World Cup, replacing the previous captain Hashmatullah Shahidi. Star spinner Rashid Khan holds many T20 records, including the most four-wicket hauls and most consecutive four-wicket innings. Rashid Khan and his team are hopeful for the upcoming 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Jos Buttler – England

English captain Jos Buttler will defend the team’s 2022 T20 World Cup title in the 9th edition of the ICC’s major event in 2024. Jos Buttler is the most successful wicketkeeper with 439 dismissals, including 393 catches and 46 stumpings. Alongside Paul Collingwood, Jos Buttler is the only captain to bring the T20 World Cup Trophy home.

Aqib Ilyas – Oman

Oman has announced Aqib Ilyas as their new captain for the 2024 T20 World Cup, replacing former skipper Zeeshan Maqsood. Aqib Ilyas Sulehri, a Pakistani cricketer, has been playing for Oman in international cricket since 2015. He is a top-order batter and can also bowl off-spin. Aqib holds the record for the second most wickets taken by hit wicket in T20I cricket. In ODIs, he has scored a century (109*) and taken a 4-wicket haul in an innings against Nepal in 2020. Aqib Ilyas will make his captain debut for Oman in the USA and West Indies ahead of the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Richie Berrington – Scotland

Scottish veteran all-rounder Richie Berrington will lead the Scotland T20 World Cup Squad in the United States and West Indies. He became Scotland’s captain after former skipper Kyle Coetzer stepped down. Berrington has scored 2040 runs in his T20I career and is the 17th player to reach the milestone of fastest 2000 runs in T20 cricket. In the 2022 T20 World Cup, Scotland played well and defeated the 2-time World Champions West Indies in the qualifier. Ahead of the 2024 World Cup, Richie Berrington and his team will face England in a group-stage match at Kensington Oval Stadium.

Paul Stirling – Ireland

Irish veteran batsman Paul Stirling has been selected for Ireland’s 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies. Stirling previously served as the interim captain for the team before being appointed as the permanent captain for White Ball cricket in October 2023. He is one of the finest Irish cricketers and holds the record for the highest individual score in an ODI for Ireland. Stirling has scored 3491 runs in 136 innings in his T20 career, making him one of the top 10 scorers in T20 cricket. He made his T20 World Cup debut for Ireland in 2009, but in the 2024 T20 World Cup, Paul Stirling is making his debut as captain of the team.

Saad Bin Zafar- Canada

Saad Bin Zafar, a Pakistani-Canadian cricketer, will lead the debutant Canada team in the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The 37-year-old veteran all-rounder has been the captain of Canada’s team since 2022 and has been making a name for himself in T20 cricket. During his T20 career, Saad achieved a strike rate of 414.28 by scoring 29 runs off 7 balls against Bahrain, which is the third-highest strike rate in a T20 innings. In bowling, Saad has an impressive best bowling figure of 2/0 in 4 overs. He also holds records for the most maidens and the best economy figure in his T20 career. Undoubtedly, Saad Bin Zafar, one of the most established cricketers in the Canada squad, will make his debut as a captain in the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Gerhard Erasmus* – Namibia

TBA – Netherlands

Similar Posts