Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

The Asia Cup: an unparalleled extravaganza of cricket rivalry, stands as a distinctive tournament that echoes the clash of nations within a single continent.

Among these cricketing giants, India’s resplendent legacy shines brightest, illuminating its supremacy in the annals of the Asia Cup.

Garnering a staggering seven victories, India’s cricket prowess has left an indelible mark on this prestigious tournament. Moreover, India’s presence in 10 out of 15 finals (despite participating in 14 editions, with one notable absence) underscores its consistent excellence.

Yet, the story of the Asia Cup encompasses more than India alone; the island nation of Sri Lanka also etches its own chapter, firmly establishing itself as the second most successful contender. With six triumphant wins, Sri Lanka adorns the tournament’s history, while Pakistan’s name graces the champion’s pedestal twice.

This gripping narrative began with a trinity of competitors and has now expanded into a six-team spectacle that unites India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

Also Check: Highest Run Scorer In Asia Cup

Tracing the Asia Cup’s Heritage – Victors and Hosts

Dubbed as a pinnacle in international cricket, the inception of the Asia Cup dates back to 1984. An illustrious moment carved in history, the first edition unfolded under the leadership of skipper Sunil Gavaskar. Held in the captivating embrace of the United Arab Emirates, India emerged victorious, etching its name as the inaugural champion.

The chronicle unfolds across 15 riveting editions, with the most recent spectacle transpiring in 2022 on the UAE’s hallowed grounds. In a thrilling final hosted in Dubai, Sri Lanka triumphed over Pakistan, prevailing by a margin of 23 runs.

Epitome of Triumph: India’s Stellar Journey

In the grand tapestry of the Asia Cup’s narrative, one team’s star shines the brightest – India. A seven-time champion, India’s cricketing might reverberates across time and space. The journey to glory commenced in 1984, and subsequently in 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018, the crown was placed upon India’s cricketing crown. A force to be reckoned with, India’s legacy stands unwavering.

Sri Lanka: A Name Written in Gold

While India’s dominance casts a formidable shadow, it’s important not to overlook the island nation’s own triumphs. Sri Lanka, with its distinct cricketing flair, clinched victory in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, and most recently, 2022. These triumphs reaffirm Sri Lanka’s undeniable cricketing prowess on the continental stage.

Hosts and Venues

Among the many facets that contribute to the Asia Cup’s allure, the host nations and their venues stand as critical elements. Bangladesh has opened its arms to the tournament on five occasions, embracing its role as a gracious host. Meanwhile, the UAE has played host four times, including the recent spectacle of 2022. Noteworthy is India’s single instance of hosting, nestled in the pages of history in 1990-91. The electric atmosphere of Kolkata witnessed India’s triumphant conquest against Sri Lanka, capturing its third title.

Sri Lanka and Pakistan as Hosts in 2023 AC

As the journey continues, the narrative of the Asia Cup unfurls. Sri Lanka, with its rich cricketing heritage, is set to host the event for the fifth time in 2023, a testament to its enduring commitment to the tournament. Meanwhile, Pakistan readies itself for its second turn as host, promising another chapter of thrilling battles on the cricketing canvas.

EditionAsia CupHostChampionRunnerupFormat
1stAsia Cup 1984UAEIndiaSri LankaODI
2ndAsia Cup 1986Sri LankaSri LankaPakistanODI
3rdAsia Cup 1988BangladeshIndiaSri LankaODI
4thAsia Cup 1990IndiaIndiaSri LankaODI
5thAsia Cup 1995UAEIndiaSri LankaODI
6thAsia Cup 1997Sri LankaSri LankaIndiaODI
7thAsia Cup 2000BangladeshPakistanSri LankaODI
8thAsia Cup 2004Sri LankaSri LankaIndiaODI
9thAsia Cup 2008PakistanSri LankaIndiaODI
10thAsia Cup 2010Sri LankaINDSLODI
11thAsia Cup 2012BangladeshPakistanBangladeshODI
12thAsia Cup 2014BangladeshSri LankaPakistanODI
13thAsia Cup 2016BangladeshIndiaBangladeshT20
14thAsia Cup 2018UAEIndiaBangladeshODI
15thAsia Cup 2022Sri LankaSri LankaPakistanT20
16thAsia Cup ODI 2023Pakistan, Sri LankaTBDTBHODI

Which team has won most Asia Cup?

India have won maximum Asia cup final.

CountryWonRunner-upWinning Year
India731984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka661986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan232000, 2012

Asia Cup Winning Captain List

Mohammad Azharuddin and MS Dhoni from India is the only two captains to win Asia cup twice as a captain.

1st1984IndiaSunil Gavaskar
2nd1986Sri LankaDuleep Mendis
3rd1988IndiaDilip Vengsarkar
4th1990IndiaMohammad Azharuddin
5th1995IndiaMohammad Azharuddin
6th1997Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
7th2000PakistanMoin Khan
8th2004Sri LankaMarvan Atapattu
9th2008Sri LankaMahela Jayawardene
10th2010INDMS Dhoni
12th2014Sri LankaAngelo Mathews
13th2016IndiaMS Dhoni
14th2018IndiaRohit Sharma
15th2022Sri LankaDasun Shanaka


The Asia Cup, a vibrant symphony of cricketing excellence, celebrates the spirit of competition within Asia’s heart. India’s unequivocal dominance, Sri Lanka’s resplendent triumphs, and the shared history of hosts and venues collectively paint a portrait of cricketing grandeur. As we look ahead to the future, the Asia Cup stands poised to etch new stories and rekindle the passion of millions, uniting nations through the magic of cricket.

Who won the Asia Cup in 2000?

In the year 2000, Pakistan emerged victorious in the Asia Cup cricket tournament.

Similar Posts