Top Wicket-Takers in IPL History for Each Franchise

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed some phenomenal bowling performances over its 15 seasons. Bowlers have outsmarted batsmen with their tactics, variations, and skills to pick up crucial wickets for their franchises. 

In this post, we will look at the  top wicket-takers for each IPL franchise  – the bowlers who have taken the most wickets playing for a single team in the league’s history.

which bowler has taken the most wickets for a single team in ipl

Top Wicket-Takers for Each IPL Franchise

Lasith Malinga170MI
Sunil Narine150KKR
Yuzvendra Chahal139RCB
DJ Bravo138CSK
Jasprit Bumrah135MI
Bhuvneshwar Kumar127SRH
Harbhajan Singh127MI
Amit Mishra106DC/DD
Ravindra Jadeja105CSK
Rashid Khan93SRH
which bowler has taken the most wickets for a single team in IPL

1. Lasith Malinga – Mumbai Indians

The highest wicket-taker in a single IPL season and overall IPL history is Sri Lankan pace legend Lasith Malinga, who played for the Mumbai Indians. Malinga achieved an impressive record of 170 wickets in 122 matches for the five-time champions at an average of 19.8 and an economy of 7.14.

With his unorthodox round-arm action and toe-crushing yorkers, Malinga proved to be unplayable at times. His best figures were 5/13, and he picked up a wicket every 16 balls for Mumbai.

Explore the legacy of Malinga’s wickets in a single IPL season and witness the cricketing magic that made him the highest wicket-taker in IPL history. Among current MI players, Jasprit Bumrah is the leading wicket-taker with 135 scalps from 92 games.

Who Has Played The Most Finals In IPL History?

2. Sunil Narine – Kolkata Knight Riders

West Indian mystery spinner Sunil Narine has proven to be one of the leading wicket-takers in the IPL and the bowler with the most wickets for two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders.

Narine boasts an impressive record of 150 wickets in 120 matches for KKR at a superb economy rate of 6.67.

In numerous IPL matches, Narine’s confuse-and-confound style of spin bowling has made him a formidable force.This success is reflected in his two Purple Caps, awarded to the bowler with the most wickets, achieved in 2012 and 2018.

Among his notable achievements, Narine holds the best figures of 5/19 for KKR, showcasing his impact on the cricketing field.

3. Yuzvendra Chahal – Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Indian leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal holds the record for the most wickets by a Royal Challengers Bangalore bowler. In 98 matches, Chahal has picked up 139 wickets at an average of 22.28 and strike rate of 17.4.

Chahal has been RCB’s leading wicket-taker for the last 5 seasons. With his wicket-taking leg spin, he provides crucial breakthroughs in the middle overs for Virat Kohli’s team.

4. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Senior Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the leading wicket-taker for Sunrisers Hyderabad, accumulating an impressive total of 127 wickets for a single franchise in the IPL. Bhuvi has showcased his skill in 90 matches for SRH, maintaining an excellent economy rate of 7.39.

With his ability to swing the new ball and deliver precise yorkers in the death overs, Bhuvneshwar provides early breakthroughs and valuable control in the backend for Hyderabad.

His best figures of 5/19 highlight his impactful contributions to the team’s success. Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s consistent performance aligns with the standards set by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and solidifies his role as a key player for the Sunrisers.

5. Dwayne Bravo – Chennai Super Kings

Veteran West Indian Dwayne Bravo holds the record for the most wickets taken for 4-time champions Chennai Super Kings, accumulating an impressive total of 138 wickets in 95 matches at an average of 23.5.

With his varieties of slower balls and mastery in death bowling, Bravo has not only showcased his prowess but also won the Purple Cap twice for Chennai (2013 and 2015) – an award given to the player with the highest wickets in a single season.

His best figures of 4/42 underline his significant contributions, both in terms of wickets taken in a single match and wickets in a single season.

6. Amit Mishra – Delhi Capitals

The second highest wicket-taker in  IPL history , veteran leg-spinner  Amit Mishra , has been Delhi’s leading wicket-taker (formerly Delhi Daredevils). 

Mishra took  100 wickets  in 95 matches for Delhi at a strike rate of 19.6. With three hat-tricks to his name, Mishra has bamboozled batsmen over the years with his looping leg-breaks and googlies.

7. Piyush Chawla – Punjab Kings

Seasoned leggie  Piyush Chawla  holds the record for the most wickets by a  Punjab Kings bowler. Chawla took  84 wickets  in 87 matches for Punjab before 2013 at an economy rate of 7.87.

Among current PBKS players, Mohammed Shami is the leading wicket-taker with 39 scalps from 28 games. Chawla’s best bowling figures are 4/17.

8. Siddharth Trivedi – Rajasthan Royals

Medium pacer  Siddharth Trivedi  played for the  Rajasthan Royals  till 2013 and picked up the most wickets for the franchise. Trivedi took  65 wickets in 76 matches at an economy of 7.68.

For the current Rajasthan squad, Jofra Archer is the leading wicket-taker with 46 wickets in 35 matches. Trivedi’s best figures are 4/25.


In summary, Lasith Malinga tops the list with 170 wickets followed by Sunil Narine on 150 wickets. Spinners like Chahal, Mishra, and Chawla also feature thanks to their wicket-taking abilities. 

The IPL has seen some outstanding bowling spells from these leading wicket-takers for each franchise. Their skills and consistency have made them invaluable players over the years.

With talented young bowlers like Bumrah, Rashid Khan and quality veterans like Bravo still going strong, we can expect more brilliant bowling performances in future IPL seasons as well.

Who has taken the most wickets in IPL history?

Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets (170) in IPL history while playing for Mumbai Indians.

Who is the highest wicket-taker for KKR?

Sunil Narine is the leading wicket-taker for KKR with 150 wickets in 120 matches.

Who is the leading wicket-taker for SRH?

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the leading wicket-taker for Sunrisers Hyderabad with 127 wickets in 90 matches.

Similar Posts